20 MINUTE HOMEMADE CHICKEN AND VEGGIE EGG ROLLS

Hi guys! To start off this food filled week, I wanted to talk about these homemade egg rolls I made. Kudos to my sistercousin for the inspiration. I made them today for dinner and I’m pretty sure baby Jordyn called me mom in Chinese. Yeah, they were that good!

I found the egg roll wraps at my local Shoprite. They were minding their own business in the produce isle where they have the organic and vegan items. I just happened to look in this direction and saw them. The packaging is below.

Ingredients: Ground chicken (cooked), Bag of mixed raw slaw (mine included broccoli, cabbage, carrots), Salsa, Avocado, Shredded mozzarella, Sweet and Sour Sauce

egg rolls2

Preparation:
I had leftover ground chicken already cooked, but you can use whatever type of meat you want. Just make sure the meat is shredded or ground once it’s cooked for easy preparing and eating. I sautéed the vegetable slawin a pan with just some coconut oil cooking spray. While that was sautee’ing the oven was heating up at 425 degrees. I laid out my egg roll wraps (I used 5) package comes with 20. I added my chicken (still cold from the fridge) to the dough, the slaw was cooked so I added about 2 teaspoons of that mix, sprinkle of cheese, tsp of salsa and a slice of avocado. Next I folded my wrap, bottom corner up, then side corners and rolled the rest. For the vegetable rolls just simply leave out the chicken and repeat the same steps.

Cooking
The directions on the egg roll package say to fry the egg rolls about 2-3 minutes and then bake for up to 5 minutes. So I fried them on each side in a little olive oil (I did not deep fry these bad boys) just let them brown. After frying I placed the rolls in my baking pan and let them bake for about 5 minutes on each side. The egg rolls were nice and crispy and a pretty brown color. I happened to have some sweet and sour sauce for dipping and dinner was served.

egg rolls

The whole meal took me about 20 minutes to prep and cook, super quick and easy. These egg rolls allow for so much variety, you can fill them with anything. Most of the ingredients I used, I already had in my fridge. I think I’m going to try some sort of breakfast egg roll tomorrow, since I have 15 wraps left.

Bon Appetite

MommyStylez

Leave a Reply

